Samvatsara - The Name of the Hindu Year

“Year” in Hinduism is called “Samvatsar” in Sanskrit. Nowadays, Samvatsar is called Samvat in simple language. Samvatsara refers to a year which is a year based on the relative position of the planet Jupiter. In the Jovian calendar, the year is equal to one solar year, but it is not so in the Samvatsar.

Samvatsara is defined in the Hindu calendar. Samvatsara depends on the position of the planet Jupiter. The ancient texts calculate a Samvatsar to be about 361 days, which is slightly less than a solar year. According to Hindu religion, the planet Jupiter enters twelve zodiac signs and the full orbit of these twelve zodiac signs is approximately equal to 12 solar years. Such five orbits of Jupiter (ie 12 times 5 = 60 samvatsar) are called Samvatsar Chakra. Each Samvatsara of this cycle is given a name. Once all 60 Samvatsaras are over, the cycle starts all over again.

This cycle of 60 Samvatsara is based on the relative positions of Jupiter and Saturn in the sky. The orbital periods of Jupiter and Saturn are approximately 12 and 30 solar years, respectively. The least common multiple of these two orbital periods is 60 solar years. Every sixty years, the two planets will be located at roughly the same sidereal coordinates as where they started sixty years ago, thus creating a sixty-year cycle.

Samvatsara list

60 Samvatsaras are divided into 3 parts and each part consists of 20 Samvatsaras. Sixty Samvatsaras are divided into 3 groups of 20 Samvatsaras. The first 20 from Prabhav to Vyaya are assigned to Brahma. The next 20 from Sarvajit to Parbhav to Vishnu and the last 20 to Shiva.

NumberName of YearVikram SamvatGregorian
1Prabhava20441987-1988 CE
2.Vibhava20451988-1989 CE
3.Śukla20461989-1990 CE
4.Pramodadūta20471990-1991 CE
5.Prajāpati20481991-1992 CE
6.Āṅgīrasa20491992-1993 CE
7.Śrīmukha20501993-1994 CE
8.Bhāva20511994-1995 CE
9.Yuva20521995-1996 CE
10.Dhātṛu20531996-1997 CE
11.Īśvara20541997-1998 CE
12.Bahudhānya20551998-1999 CE
13.Pramāthi20561999-2000 CE
14.Vikrama20572000-2001 CE
15.Vṛṣaprajā20582001-2002 CE
16.Citrabhānu20592002-2003 CE
17.Svabhānu20602003-2004 CE
18.Tāraṇa20612004-2005 CE
19.Pārthiva20622005-2006 CE
20.Vyaya20632006-2007 CE
21.Sarvajit20642007-2008 CE
22.Sarvadhāri20652008-2009 CE
23.Virodhi20662009-2010 CE
24.Vikṛti20672010-2011 CE
25.Khara20682011-2012 CE
26.Nandana20692012-2013 CE
27.Vijaya20702013-2014 CE
28.Jaya20712014-2015 CE
29.Manmatha20722015-2016 CE
30.Durmukha20732016-2017 CE
31.Hevilambi20742017-2018 CE
32.Vilambi20752018-2019 CE
33.Vikāri20762019-2020 CE
34.Śārvari20772020-2021 CE
35.Plava20782021-2022 CE
36.Śubhakṛta20792022-2023 CE
37.Śobhakṛta20802023-2024 CE
38.Krodhi20812024-2025 CE
39.Viśvāvasu20822025-2026 CE
40.Parābhava20832026-2027 CE
41.Plavaṅga20842027-2028 CE
42.Kīlaka20852028-2029 CE
43.Saumya20862029-2030 CE
44.Sādhāraṇa20872030-2031 CE
45.Virodhakṛta20882031-2032 CE
46.Paridhāvi20892032-2033 CE
47.Pramādi20902033-2034 CE
48.Ānanda20912034-2035 CE
49.Rākṣasa20922035-2036 CE
50.Nala/Anala20932036-2037 CE
51.Piṅgala20942037-2038 CE
52.Kālayukta20952038-2039 CE
53.Siddhārthi20962039-2040 CE
54.Raudra20972040-2041 CE
55.Durmati20982041-2042 CE
56.Dundubhi20992042-2043 CE
57.Rudhirodgāri21002043-2044 CE
58.Raktākṣi21012044-2045 CE
59.Krodhana/Manyu21022045-2046 CE
60.Akshaya21032046-2047 CE

Upcoming Festivals & Vrat 2024

The Divine News

Humble request: Write your valuable suggestions in the comment box below to make the website better and share this informative treasure with your friends. If there is any error / correction, you can also contact me through e-mail by clicking here. Thank you.

EN हिं