Surya Namaskar Mantra

Surya Namaskar, also known as Sun Salutation, is a yoga practice that involves a sequence of asanas (yoga postures) performed in coordination with specific mantras (chants) dedicated to Lord Surya, the Sun God. Each of the 12 asanas is associated with a unique mantra, and these mantras are recited while performing the respective postures. These mantras serve to pay homage to the Sun God and invoke his blessings for health, vitality, and spiritual well-being.

Here are the 12 asanas of Surya Namaskar along with their corresponding mantras:

  1. Pranamasana (Prayer Pose) - Om Mitraya Namaha
  2. Hasta Uttanasana (Raised Arms Pose) - Om Ravaye Namaha
  3. Padahastasana (Hand to Foot Pose) - Om Suryaya Namaha
  4. Ashwa Sanchalanasana (Equestrian Pose) - Om Bhanave Namaha
  5. Dandasana (Stick Pose) - Om Khagaya Namaha
  6. Ashtanga Namaskara (Salute with Eight Parts) - Om Pushne Namaha
  7. Bhujangasana (Cobra Pose) - Om Hiranyagarbhaya Namaha
  8. Parvatasana (Mountain Pose) - Om Marichaye Namaha
  9. Ashwa Sanchalanasana (Equestrian Pose) - Om Adityaya Namaha
  10. Padahastasana (Hand to Foot Pose) - Om Savitre Namaha
  11. Hasta Uttanasana (Raised Arms Pose) - Om Arkaya Namaha
  12. Tadasana (Mountain Pose) - Om Bhaskaraya Namaha

These mantras are chanted mentally or softly while performing the corresponding asanas in synchrony with the breath. The practice of Surya Namaskar is not only beneficial for physical health but also for mental and spiritual well-being, making it a holistic yoga practice.

Upcoming Festivals & Vrat 2024

The Divine News

Humble request: Write your valuable suggestions in the comment box below to make the website better and share this informative treasure with your friends. If there is any error / correction, you can also contact me through e-mail by clicking here. Thank you.

EN हिं