Bhagavad Gita Jayanti 2024

Important information

Gita Jayanti is a very important day for Hindus. On this day, the holy book of Hindus, Bhagavad Gita was born, ie Gita Jayanti is the day when Lord Shri Krishna told the Gita to Arjuna. It is celebrated on Shukla Ekadashi on the 11th day of Margashirsha month of the Hindu calendar. The Bhagavad Gita was described by Lord Krishna himself before the Mahabharata war began. It is believed that in the Mahabharata, the seeds of the Pandavas and the Kauravas had decided to go to war even after every possible reconciliation effort.

The 'Bhagavad Gita' was revealed by Krishna himself to Arjuna at the battlefield of Kurukshetra. Now this place is called Kurukshetra in the Indian state of Haryana. Kurukshetra is the holy and main religious place of Hindus. This book is written by a third person. Which was narrated by Sanjay to King Dhritarashtra, because the Gita was described between Lord Krishna and Arjuna. Sanjay was blessed and empowered by his teacher, Ved Vyas, that he could see the events in the battlefield from a distance.

Geeta Jayanti is celebrated as a festival. The festival of Gita Jayanti is celebrated all over the world by all the devotees (followers of Sanatana Dharma) of Lord Krishna. The Gita contains about 700 verses that provide knowledge to many humans about many important aspects of life. Those who want to progress spiritually study the Gita.

Most people also fast on this day because it is the day of Ekadashi (Ekadashi fasting is the eleventh day of the moon and Amavasya) - it occurs twice every lunar month. On this day, bhajans and pujas are organized. In places where this festival is celebrated grandly, stage play and Gita chanting competitions are organized to show children as a way to encourage their interest to read Gita. Yogis, monks and learned scholars give talks and organize this sacred book. Letters, booklets and books containing the essence of the Gita are distributed to the public. Distributing free copies of the Gita on this holy day is particularly auspicious.

All the 18 chapter name of Bhagavad Gita are as follows:

Chapter 1: The Yoga of Arjuna’s Dejection (arjuna-viṣāda-yoga)
Chapter 2: The Yoga of Analysis (sāṅkhya-yoga)
Chapter 3: The Yoga of Action (karma-yoga)
Chapter 4: The Yoga of Knowledge (jñāna-yoga)
Chapter 5: The Yoga of Renunciation (sannyāsa-yoga)
Chapter 6: The Yoga of Meditation (dhyana-yoga)
Chapter 7: The Yoga of Wisdom (vijnana-yoga)
Chapter 8: The Yoga of Liberating Spirit (tāraka-brahma-yoga)
Chapter 9: The Yoga of Royal and Hidden Knowledge (rāja-vidyā-rāja-guhya-yoga)
Chapter 10: The Yoga of Excellence (vibhūti-yoga)
Chapter 11: The Yoga of Seeing the Cosmic Form (viśva-rūpa-darśana-yoga)
Chapter 12: The Yoga of Devotion (bhakti-yoga)
Chapter 13: The Yoga of Distinguishing Matter from Spirit (prakṛti-puruṣa-viveka-yoga)
Chapter 14: The Yoga of the Threefold Modalities (guṇa-traya-vibhāga-yoga)
Chapter 15: The Yoga of the Ultimate Person (puruṣottama-yoga)
Chapter 16: The Yoga of Differentiating Godly and Ungodly Assets (daivāsura-sampad-vibhāga-yoga)
Chapter 17: The Yoga of Differentiating Threefold Faith (śraddhā-traya-vibhāga-yoga)
Chapter 18: The Yoga of Liberation (mokṣa-yoga)

Gita Temples

Shri Geeta Birla Mandir
Gita Mandir Mathura

Upcoming Festivals & Vrat 2024

The Divine News

Humble request: Write your valuable suggestions in the comment box below to make the website better and share this informative treasure with your friends. If there is any error / correction, you can also contact me through e-mail by clicking here. Thank you.

EN हिं