Saurashtra Somnath - Dwadash Jyotirling

Saurāṣṭra sōmanātha ca śrīśailē mallikārjunam.
Ujjainayana mahākālamōnakaramalēśvaram.1.

Paralyaṁ vaidyanātham ca ḍākin'yaṁ bhīmāśaṅkaram.
Sētubandhu tū ramēśa nāgēśana dārukāvaṇē.2.

Vārāṇasyāṁ tu viśvēśam tryambakama gautamitattē.
Himālaya, kēdārama ghuṣmēśa cā śivālayē..3.

Ētānī jyōtirliṅgānī sandhyākāḷacē paṭhēnnāra.
Saptajanmakr̥taṁ pāpaṁ smaraṇēna vināśyati..4.

"Dwadash Jyotirling" is a potent devotional hymn dedicated to the worship of Lord Shiva. The term "Jyotirling" signifies the radiant symbol of Lord Shiva, and there are twelve sacred Jyotirling Temples in India. Devotees recite or chant "Shiva Dwadash Jyotirling" to pay homage to these twelve Jyotirling temples associated with Lord Shiva.

This Sanskrit poem, "Dwadash Jyotirling," beautifully describes these twelve Jyotirling temples scattered across India. It is cherished by followers of the Hindu religion and ardent devotees of Lord Shiva. According to Hindu mythology, the regular recitation of this Jyotirling is the most potent means of pleasing Lord Shiva and receiving his blessings.

Through the recitation of this Jyotirling, individuals receive the blessings of Shiva as well as the benevolence of all deities. Regularly chanting this hymn bestows the perpetual blessings of Mahalakshmi. For optimal results, it is recommended to recite the Jyotirling early in the morning after bathing, while in the presence of an idol or image of Lord Shiva. Understanding the meaning of the Jyotirling in Hindi enhances its effectiveness, allowing devotees to deepen their spiritual connection.

The Twelve Dwadash Jyotirling temples are:

  1. Somnath Jyotirlinga: Located in Prabhas Patan, Gujarat, it is considered the first Jyotirlinga.
  2. Mallikarjuna Jyotirlinga: Situated in Srisailam, Andhra Pradesh, it is known for its unique form.
  3. Mahakaleshwar Jyotirlinga: Located in Ujjain, Madhya Pradesh, it is associated with the ruler of time.
  4. Omkareshwar Jyotirlinga: Positioned on Mandhata Island in Madhya Pradesh, it resembles the Om symbol.
  5. Kedarnath Jyotirlinga: Nestled in the Himalayas in Uttarakhand, it holds significant importance in Hindu mythology.
  6. Bhimashankar Jyotirlinga: Situated in Pune, Maharashtra, it is linked to a story in the Mahabharata.
  7. Kashi Vishwanath Jyotirlinga: Located in Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh, it is one of the most revered temples in India.
  8. Trimbakeshwar Jyotirlinga: Located in Trimbak, Maharashtra, it is associated with the source of the Godavari River.
  9. Vaidyanath Jyotirlinga: Positioned in Deoghar, Jharkhand, it is dedicated to Lord Shiva as the "God of Physicians."
  10. Nageshwar Jyotirlinga: Situated in Dwarka, Gujarat, it is known for its unique appearance.
  11. Rameshwar Jyotirlinga: Located in Rameswaram, Tamil Nadu, it is linked to the Ramayana.
  12. Grishneshwar Jyotirlinga: Positioned in Ellora, Maharashtra, it is the last of the Dwadash Jyotirlingas.

Pilgrims often embark on a sacred journey, known as a "Jyotirlinga Yatra," to visit all twelve Jyotirlingas to seek blessings, perform rituals, and immerse themselves in the divine energy associated with Lord Shiva. Each of these temples has its unique history, legends, and cultural significance, making the Dwadash Jyotirlingas an essential part of Hindu pilgrimage and devotion.

Upcoming Festivals & Vrat 2024

The Divine News

Humble request: Write your valuable suggestions in the comment box below to make the website better and share this informative treasure with your friends. If there is any error / correction, you can also contact me through e-mail by clicking here. Thank you.

EN हिं