Hindu Nav Varsh 2025

Important information

  • Hindu New Year 2025, Vikram Samvat 2082
  • Sunday, 30 March 2025
  • Pratipada Tithi Start : 29 March 2025 at 04:27 pm
  • Pratipada Tithi End : 30 March 2025 at 12:49 pm
  • Samvatsara - The Name of the Hindu Year

New Year is celebrated as a festival all over the world. The date of the new year is also different in different places in the world. The New Year celebrations of different sects also differ and its importance also differs among different cultures.

In India too, there is a difference in the dates of the new year, in different states or it can be said that there is a difference in the dates of the new year in different communities. In the Hindu community of North India, New Year's festival is celebrated on the Pratipada of Shukla Paksha of Chaitra. This year this date is on 22nd March 2023. In Hinduism, this day is considered the most auspicious day of the year. The Hindu New Year is a day of celebration.

Historical Importance of Chaitra Shukla Pratipada

Hindu New Year celebrates Pratipada of Shukla Paksha of Chaitra month, it has many historical importance in the past. This festival is associated with the mythological day Lord Brahma created the universe on this day. In this, not only Brahmaji and the main gods and goddesses of the universe created by him, Yakshas-demons, Gandharvas, sages, rivers, mountains, animals and birds and insects, diseases and their remedies are also worshiped.  New Samvatsara starts from this day. Hence this date is also called 'Nav Samvatsara'.

There are many historical importance of celebrating Hindu New Year, which we can know due to the following reasons, which are as follows-

  • From the sunrise of this day, Brahma started the creation of the universe.
  • Emperor Vikramaditya established the kingdom on this day. The first day of Vikrami Samvat begins in his name.
  • This is the day of coronation of Lord Shri Ram.
  • This is the nine days of Shakti and Bhakti i.e. the first day of Navratri.
  • Like King Vikramaditya, Shalivahana chose this day to defeat the Huns and establish the best state in South India. Vikram Samvat was established.
  • The coronation of Yudhishthira also took place on this day.

Indian New Year

The dates of the new year are different in different states in India and the new year is celebrated with different names. In Maharashtra, the new year is known as Gudi Pandava which falls in March and April. In Punjab, the new year is celebrated as Baisakhi on 13th April. According to the Sikh Nanakshahi calendar, 14 March is the Hola Mohalla New Year. In Goa, the Hindu community celebrates this day in the name of Konkani. In the state of Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, this day is celebrated as Ugadi. Kashmiri Pandits in Kashmir this day is known as Navreh (March 19). In Bengal the occasion is celebrated as Naba Barsa, in Assam as Bihu, in Kerala as Vishu, in Tamil Nadu as Putuhandu. In Marwari, New Year is celebrated on the day of Diwali. New Year is celebrated on the second day of Diwali in Gujarat. Bengali New Year Pohela Baisakhi falls on 14th or 15th April. New Year is celebrated on this day in West Bengal and Bangladesh.

Humble request: Write your valuable suggestions in the comment box below to make the website better and share this informative treasure with your friends. If there is any error / correction, you can also contact me through e-mail by clicking here. Thank you.

EN हिं